The Day After Doomsday

Well, it’s the day after the much-acclaimed end of the world, as far as the Mayan calendar went, and the end of my Kindle book give-away. I am reminded of a book I came across at my university book store in 1968 or thereabouts: “When Prophecy Fails” (http://books.google.co.il/books/about/When_Prophecy_Fails.html?id=jbZNMAEACAAJ&redir_esc=y) by Leon Festinger, Henry Riecken, and Stanley Schachter. It analyzes a group of people, a cult, that predicted the end of the world and that they would be rescued by a UFO just before the apocalypse. It records the cult members’ behavior and responses up to the zero-hour and following. If you don’t want to read the book you can get an idea of what happened in the Wikipedia article (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/When_Prophecy_Fails).

Incidentally, 230 downloaded my books from around the world during the 5-day promotion. Most people downloaded The Rats and the Saps. Quite a few downloaded The Tin Man. There are still a few poetry readers kicking around, but unfortunately not as many as I would have wished. Please remember to write a review on the Amazon Kindle book page if you liked what you read.

Before I let you go your separate ways, you will find on the right margin of this blog that I have organized my latest novel-in-the-works, Whirlpool, in a book format. It’s confusing enough to read it in blog format, last-in first-out so, to make things as easy on you as I can, I will maintain the novel in blog and book formats.

Mike Stone

Raanana Israel

Leave a comment

Filed under about writing, Essays, Dilemmas, & Philosophy, Poetry, Prose, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Stories and Novels

Leave a Reply

